Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Will SLAMming drop my CYA?

1. Back To Top    #1

In the Industry

Will SLAMming drop my CYA?

After way too much rain and being in-and-out of town, I had developed a slight yellow issue. Checked yesterday morning, pH was 7.5 and FC was 7 (from a jug dumped in on Saturday, no time for detailed tests then), dumped in a jug and opened the chlorinator (with [4] 3" stabilized tabs in it) just a bit, from just over 1 to not quite 3.
    Overnight my CYA fell:

Last night : Today

FC 24 : 20
    CC 0 : 2 : D/C = didn't check
    CH D/C : D/C
    TA D/C : D/C

CYA 22 : <20
    pH D/C : 7.5

Pool temp 84*F, masonry, cover on except when swimming.

As I've been in-and-out of town I've checked the chlorine and pH with the little kit at least 2ce a week, no huge swings in either.

Is this normal, or indicative of something (possibly a testing error, although I'm not a newbie, typically very consistent, and am now out of R-0013...)?
    Thanks!
    Last edited by SeaCorey; 09-01-2015 at 10:36 AM. Reason: Add addt'l testing info
    IG concrete, 14'x24', 11k gal
    Paper cartridge filter, 1hp 2-speed pump soon
    [8] Heliocol panels harvested from a solar electric customer

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Will SLAMming drop my CYA?

I would chalk that up to within the accuracy of the test and your testing methods.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

TFP Guide