Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Best test kit for beginner with Autopilot SWG and Autopilot chemistry controller

1. Back To Top    #1

Best test kit for beginner with Autopilot SWG and Autopilot chemistry controller

I am new to maintaining my pool and I really appreciate the information on this site! I need to purchase a test kit and it appears that the Taylor K2006C and the TF-100 are recommended the most. Is there one of these that I should get over the other given that I have never done this before and considering the type of automated system I have?
    Thanks for any advice you can give me.
    Built 11/2009; 16x25 IG free form with raised spa and spillover; 10,500 gal; gunite color quartz plaster finish; flagstone coping; travertine deck; Hayward NorthStar 2.5HP pump; U.S. motors 2HP motor; Hayward 525sf Swimclear cartridge filter; Autopilot salt chlorine generator; Autopilot pool chemistry controller; Polaris 3900 sport pool cleaner; Polaris PB4-60 pool cleaner motor(booster pump); Hayward 400K BTU heater, TF-100 test kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Best test kit for beginner with Autopilot SWG and Autopilot chemistry controller

I recommend the TF-100. Add the Taylor salt test well. And the SpeedStir is a great addition.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry

Re: Best test kit for beginner with Autopilot SWG and Autopilot chemistry controller

The TF-100 has really been optimized around the TFPC methods, so while the k-2006 is an excellent kit I think the TF-100 is the better choice.