Cloudy water and can't maintain any chlorine level

dduke

Aug 30, 2015
Steubenville, Ohio
Hi all,

I'm new to this forum but I've been a pool owner for 25 years and have done it all... changed and installed filters and pumps, heaters, liners, etc. so I'm not a novice but we all get that annoying problem now and then that we can't figure out. Like this one:

I have a 13,500 gal in-ground chlorine pool and have had no chemistry problems for a couple of years. Last week my floater ran out of chlorine for about two days. Then I realized it when the water became a little cloudy. I shocked it and the next day no chlorine reading.... I shocked it again the next day and again, no chlorine reading. I had to leave for two days so I put plenty of chlorine in the floater and opened up the holes to 15,000 gal level so I'd have chlorine going in.

I came back yesterday and took a sample to the local pool store and the only thing wrong was my alkalinity was 40. They said to put alka up in it which I did yesterday afternoon. They also said to shock it at dusk and I used on pound of supershock. This morning I went out and again NO CHLORINE READING AT ALL....ABSOLUTE ZERO AGAIN ON FREE AND TOTAL CHLORINE. So, something is eating up the chlorine as fast as I can put it in and I can't figure this one out. The pool store said the water was fine except for the alkalinity which is now ok.

My other readings are as follows:
Chlorine 0
Ph 7.2
Alkalinity 80
Hardness 20
CYA 30-50

The water is so cloudy I can only see down to the third step or so and gets worse by the day.

Any advice would be deeply appreciated......thank you!
dduke

Welcome to TFP!

The first decision you will have to make is whether to follow the pool store method or the TFP method. They are incompatible with each other.