Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Sand Filter Diagnosis - Please help

1. Back To Top    #1

Question Sand Filter Diagnosis - Please help

Hello, I am new to the pool world and I am just learning the names of parts, maintenance, problems, etc., so please bare with me as I crash course your world!

I've had my pool for a year now and have had a service company maintain and service weekly. Over the last several months the maintenance company has caused some equipment issues/possible damage and they have been fairly unreliable etc., so, I have been slowly learning the system so I can maintain it myself when I toss these guys to the curb.

I routinely check the pool room - almost everyday - to make sure everything is running smoothly, and for the most part the equipment was fine until 2 weeks ago. I walked into the pool room to find the pressure gauge full of water and a white crystallized substance all around these sand filter parts: pressure gauge, sight glass, valve, pipe joints, and at the base of the filter (pictures attached). I've done quite a bit of research on what might have caused this but I can't figure it out and my head is starting to throb! I'm thinking the substance is either salt or calcium - I do have a SWG. The substance is oily so maybe calcium?

Does anyone know what might have caused this collapse or blow to my sand filter? I am at a loss to figure this out and my pool guy doesn't know, (or doesn't want to tell me), and I can't get a straight answer from the pool company.

Thank you for any help so I might resolve this!!!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Accessories include: spa, salt system for pool, ozonator for spa, auto-fill/drain.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Sand Filter Diagnosis - Please help