Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    36

    Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    So we finally got our deck poured today. However they used the wrong stamp. We had agreed to a repeated tile pattern, but got a faux stone pattern with no tiles. We were told it can be fixed but will take two weeks for the current deck to cure and then the surface can be re stamped. Is this going to be possible while keeping the deck flush and flat with the coping and looking good? Will they have to remove some or is it going to look raised higher than the coping? Are we better off just keeping what was done? The job was done well, just not the pattern we wanted.

    Thanks for any advice.
    In Ground 17X29 90 ft perimeter; 3.5 to 5 depth; 15,000 gallons, Stonescapes Tropics Blue, Jandy stealth 1.5 HP 2 speed, Jandy 450 SQ cartridge, Jandy JXi 400K BTU NG, POLARIS 280 W/ HP booster pump, North Texas

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Houston tx
    Posts
    2,494

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    If you hate it or it will bother you every time you go outside then by all means get it replaced. But if you think you can live with it, then ask for a discount. It's your decking and you're the one who has to live with it.

    Can you show us some pics of what you wanted and what you got?
    Marla
    No longer living vicariously through other people's pool builds. Pool build is complete on my IG SWCG pool, approx 10,000 gallons. All Jandy equipment - VS 1.5 hp pump, 580 cartridge filter, AquaPure 1400 salt cell, AquaLink PDA system. Dolphin m500. PebbleSheen Blue Surf with shells and beads added. TF-100 w/ SpeedStir. A Houston Pool Build Inside the Loop

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad kimkats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    26,699

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    Marla has very good thoughts.

    Kim
    TFP Moderator 33x52 round AG 25,600 gals Sand Filter 1.5hp Pump - 2 Speed, SLAM, Pool School, Recommended Levels, Recommended Chemicals, Pool Math, Chlorine/CYA Chart, TF-100 Test Kit

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Houston tx
    Posts
    2,494

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    Tell hubby that!!!
    Marla
    No longer living vicariously through other people's pool builds. Pool build is complete on my IG SWCG pool, approx 10,000 gallons. All Jandy equipment - VS 1.5 hp pump, 580 cartridge filter, AquaPure 1400 salt cell, AquaLink PDA system. Dolphin m500. PebbleSheen Blue Surf with shells and beads added. TF-100 w/ SpeedStir. A Houston Pool Build Inside the Loop

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    36

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    Here is what we we looking for pattern wise
    Attachment 42189

    Here is what we have, which looks like a slab:
    Attachment 42190

    So what is the process for re stamping and is it likely to look good after? From what I understand they have pour at least another 1/4 inch on top of this at which point will it still be level with the coping?
    In Ground 17X29 90 ft perimeter; 3.5 to 5 depth; 15,000 gallons, Stonescapes Tropics Blue, Jandy stealth 1.5 HP 2 speed, Jandy 450 SQ cartridge, Jandy JXi 400K BTU NG, POLARIS 280 W/ HP booster pump, North Texas

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,495

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    I don't know how they think they can "re-stamp". The process involves pushing a stamp/mould down into partially set cement. The do it they would have to pour a new thin slab on top of the existing concrete and stamp that. With the tile pattern you have selected you are going to end up,with the low spots of the new concrete very thin over the old slab. I would think this would be a recipe for cracking and peeling off the top of the bottom slab.

    If it is level with the coping now it will end up higher, no doubt.

    I really believe a 1/4" slab over an existing slab is a bad idea. I would reach out to Mr. Google to see what you can find.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad kimkats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    26,699

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    I have to say I agree with Tim------------bad idea to put 1/4" over it. It will NOT be even with the coping

    Kim
    TFP Moderator 33x52 round AG 25,600 gals Sand Filter 1.5hp Pump - 2 Speed, SLAM, Pool School, Recommended Levels, Recommended Chemicals, Pool Math, Chlorine/CYA Chart, TF-100 Test Kit

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    426

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    I think what they did looks nice but it is a much different look than what you wanted. I would find out the cost of removing what they did and redoing it (not by putting the stamp over what you have but by repouring a full slab of concrete) and then decide if you want to take a credit of that amount
    1200 Sq Ft 41,000 Gal. Gunite, JANDY SVRS VS pump, JANDY JXI 400,000 BTU, Polaris 280 w/ 3/4 BP, Rockwall and Grotto (w/6 jets and blower), 2 JANDY Lam Jets, 2 LED Bubblers, 5 Ledlights, AQUALINK P16 RS, 90% Quartz, SWF 185 GMP BP, SWF 125 BP, Levelor K1100 Autofill, AP Digital SWG, 2 skim and 5 returns, and mostly 3 inch piping

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    36

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    Thanks, they did a good job, just not what we were expecting. My big concern is that they want to do an overlay and I don't know that an overlay can be done without it looking odd and not lining up with the coping etc. If it needs to be ripped out first to make it work properly I need to verify that is what will be done.
    In Ground 17X29 90 ft perimeter; 3.5 to 5 depth; 15,000 gallons, Stonescapes Tropics Blue, Jandy stealth 1.5 HP 2 speed, Jandy 450 SQ cartridge, Jandy JXi 400K BTU NG, POLARIS 280 W/ HP booster pump, North Texas

  10. Back To Top    #10
    JoyfulNoise's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    11,595

    Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    Agree with above comments. Only way to "restamp" is to put the thin coat on top. That will almost certainly fail (crack, chip or spall) within a few years.

    Your options are to either accept what you have (with a possible credit) or have them jackhammer and remove what they did and redo it. I imagine a full removal is going to lead to a fight with your PB as he will have to eat the cost of the mistake.

    I'm curious, did they show you the stamp before doing the work? Most decking companies doing stamped concrete usually require the owner or PB to visually approve the stamp before beginning. At least that's always been my understanding of the process.


    Matt
    16k IG PebbleTec pool, 650gal spa, spillway and waterfall, 3HP IntelliFlo VS / 1.5HP WhisperFlo, Pentair QuadDE-100 filter, IC40 SWCG, MasterTemp 400k BTU/hr NG heater, KreepyKrauly suction-side cleaner Dolphin S300i robot, EasyTouch controls, city water, K-1001, K-2006 and K-1766 test kits, Mannitol test for borates

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,095

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    Quote Originally Posted by TriPool View Post
    Thanks, they did a good job, just not what we were expecting. My big concern is that they want to do an overlay and I don't know that an overlay can be done without it looking odd and not lining up with the coping etc. If it needs to be ripped out first to make it work properly I need to verify that is what will be done.
    Personally if there was no miscommunication you paid for a brand new slab of stamped concrete that will last years. Not a patched slab that could only last a few. I would either require the builder to rip the entire thing out and redo it correctly OR figure out the cost to repour the entire slab and have the builder give you an incentive to not redo it. Is there some upgrade you could get with the same cost? Maybe more decking? Or an upgraded pool finish? IF you live with their mistake that is.
    Pool is done! Only took 17 months! - Natural shape in-ground pool: 37x23, 505sq ft, 96ft perimeter, 7ft deep end, 18,950 gallons, tanning ledge, blue surf pebble sheen/luminous blue blend, Belgard coping, 910 sqft paver deck/walkways, retaining walls out the yinyang. Jandy SWG, 2 LED Color lights, VS 2HP Pump, 460sqft cartridge filter, PDA RS P8 controller. My build

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    36

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    No miscommunication, just a mistake by the PB. No we did not get to see the stamp until my wife who happened to be home asked about it, but they had already started pouring before that. Thanks for the input everyone, sounds like an overlay isn't as permanent and we either need to accept it as is or remove/ re pour.
    In Ground 17X29 90 ft perimeter; 3.5 to 5 depth; 15,000 gallons, Stonescapes Tropics Blue, Jandy stealth 1.5 HP 2 speed, Jandy 450 SQ cartridge, Jandy JXi 400K BTU NG, POLARIS 280 W/ HP booster pump, North Texas

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Mod Squad JVTrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Central Minnesota
    Posts
    5,079

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    It does look like it was well done, just not what you wanted. I liked your idea picture that made it look like paving stones which makes the crack control joints look less obstrusive to the overall look.
    Joel - TFP Moderator - Minnesota - **Become a TFP Supporter!** Helpful Links: ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry - SLAM Procedure - Chlorine/CYA Chart
    40x20 Pool: 32K Gallons * Vinyl * Bleach Chlorination * Hayward S270T Sand Filter * Pentair SuperFlo 1 HP * Teledyne/Laars Heater * AquaVac Tigershark * TF-100 w/ SpeedStir
    Isolated Spa - 345 Gallons

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,495

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    Quote Originally Posted by TriPool View Post
    sounds like an overlay isn't as permanent and we either need to accept it as is or remove/ re pour.
    All concrete is going to crack, it's the nature of the beast. That is why you see lines in driveways and patios. The builder is trying to "force" the crack in those spots to make it look better.

    But, with that being said, a skim coat is going to fail. You just don't know when. The concrete guys are going to tell you it's fine and will last a life time. If so, ask for a real long warranty and make them back it up by purchasing a bond to,secure the warranty.

    Short of that you have two choices as I see it-

    Jackhammer it out and re-pour, re-stamp correctly

    They give you a sufficient discount to make you happy.

    Now, I will say my patio is what you originally asked for. I hate it (came with the house/pool). Water ttends to hang in the low spots and gets dark discolorations. I'll trade what I have for what you got any day.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  15. Back To Top    #15
    Mod Squad JVTrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Central Minnesota
    Posts
    5,079

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    Quote Originally Posted by tim5055 View Post

    Now, I will say my patio is what you originally asked for. I hate it (came with the house/pool). Water ttends to hang in the low spots and gets dark discolorations. I'll trade what I have for what you got any day.
    There's your silver lining... but try to get a discount too!
    Joel - TFP Moderator - Minnesota - **Become a TFP Supporter!** Helpful Links: ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry - SLAM Procedure - Chlorine/CYA Chart
    40x20 Pool: 32K Gallons * Vinyl * Bleach Chlorination * Hayward S270T Sand Filter * Pentair SuperFlo 1 HP * Teledyne/Laars Heater * AquaVac Tigershark * TF-100 w/ SpeedStir
    Isolated Spa - 345 Gallons

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    96

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    Our last pool had a stamped concrete deck like the one you wanted. We really liked it. That being said what they did is lovely and I wonder if you will be less likely to notice cracks and imperfections without the tiled pattern. We did get cracking even with a quality job. After paying out all of this money, I might take the discount and buy some great patio furniture!
    Building 20x40 free-form pool; pebble sheen, caretaker in floor, swg, intelliflo pump, heater. Sundance 800 spa happily in use. More to come!

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Temple,Tx
    Posts
    12

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    The picture of what you wanted looks nothing like the finished deck, were you not home when they were doing the deck so you could tell them it's wrong? That's a big fub@r. No way to fix that unless you start over and deck looks like it gonna be really slick when it's wet. Hey, I feel your pain my pool idiot forgot to put pea gravel in the mix, telling me on the morning of the pour and already behind I let it slide and had to go with mortex cool deck and this cr@p stain's when you get anything on it. It's always something. It's an imperfect world
    15,500 IG Fiberglass (Lonestar pools) Charleston 16.5"x37, Pentair DE flt fns Pls48, Ecopump EP-6 2.2HP VS, May 2015 install/build, SWG Turbo cell T-9, First choice 3/4 booster, Hayward Pro logic PL-P-4, Polaris 280,Jandy Pro series LED lighting.

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Land O Lakes, FL
    Posts
    526

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    Big discount or rip it all out! . Personally i would go for the discount.

    Matt
    2016 Pool Build: 12k IG Blue Granite Pebblesheen, Travertine Coping & Pavers, Pentair IntelliFlo, Intellichlor, Easytouch, Clean & Clear 320, Heliocol Solar - TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    SWG Run Time Calculator

  19. Back To Top    #19

    TFP Guide
    PAGirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Central PA
    Posts
    2,388

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    As someone who doesn't like a lot of commotion, I would stick with what is there, since it turned out so nice. I'd be nervous that the redo wouldn't come out as good as the first pour, then I'd be out of luck. It can be hard to accept not getting what we asked for/paid for, though.
    26' X 52" Intex Ultra Frame. Intex Sand Filter
    26' X 52 Intex Ultra Frame Install
    You can lead a horse to (clear) water, but you can't force him to swim in it!

  20. Back To Top    #20
    MARCO...polo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    East Contra Costa County CA
    Posts
    101

    Re: Can stamped concrete be restamped?

    That's the same pattern (seamless) we had done on our deck with a different release color. We discussed, argued, hem and hawed between seamed or seamless but the decision was finally made by our concrete guy (great guy BTW) when he asked what was the focal point of the yard; pool or deck. With our raised wall of stone and brick coping, more squares would have been over the top.
    13,000 gal.Peanut shaped IG Plaster (med. gray) w/ 7' raised spa. ALL Pentair: Intelliflow 3hp VS, Cartridge filter, 400,000 btu heater, 2.0hp spa motor, Easy Touch control panel & is4 spa side switch, Intellichlor 40C SWG, Paramount PV3 In Floor cleaning system, spa spillway and two sheer descents. Solar: 10 FAFCO panels 1.5hp booster. Testt kits: K-2006 & K1766 (Chloride/Salt) Fill date August 15, 2114.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •