Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How do I cut the GFCI plug on my intex plug and make it a normal plug

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    445

    How do I cut the GFCI plug on my intex plug and make it a normal plug

    Hi guys. My intex pump has the GFCI plug. Like everyone else, everytime the timer goes off it makes the plug go from reset to test. I am using the woods outdoor mechanical timer which then is plugged into an outdoor GFCI bubble cover outlet. I've read on the forum that a bunch of people have cut that portion of the plug off and put a regular 3 prong plug on it. For someone that isn't handy like myself, how would you go about doing that? What specifically did you buy and how did you attach it? Pics would be helpful also since I am not handy. Thanks TFP!
    Location: Long Island, NY
    Gallons: 5000 Gallons
    Pool: 15' Saltwater 5000
    Filter: Pentair 1 HP Optiflow Pump w/ Clean & Clear 75Sq Ft Cartridge Filter
    SWG: Intex CS8110

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,670

    Re: How do I cut the GFCI plug on my intex plug and make it a normal plug

    My .02 cents, hire an electrician or find a neighbor that knows a bit about electricity. Electricity can kill very quickly and if you are stumped on this then I would hesitate giving you advice on what you need. It's not only the having the required parts but also the knowledge on how to make solid connections with the plug and wires.
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    246

    Re: How do I cut the GFCI plug on my intex plug and make it a normal plug

    Do not cut the GFCI unless the pump is connected to an outlet that is protected by another GFCI! Also, why not use the built-in timer in the Intex pump and avoid the problem altogether?

    EDIT: sorry, read your sig and realized your pump probably doesn't have a timer. Then the best advise is to upgrade to a sandfilter/pump with timer
    Intex Ultra Frame 24'x12'x52" (732cm x 366cm) rectangular pool
    Intex SF80220RC (1600 GPH) pump/sandfilter
    Intex SF10220 (1050 GPH) pump/sandfilter driving the
    Intex Automatic Pool Cleaner
    Intex 8220 ECO SWG, Brilix XHP100 9kW heatpump

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Agent99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    688

    Re: How do I cut the GFCI plug on my intex plug and make it a normal plug

    Well, actually, this is pretty simple. The pump runs on standard 120 Vac. You do, literally, cut the (offending) plug off, strip some insulation to reveal the 3 wires. There should be a black, white, and green (possibly bare copper) wire. Next buy yourself a plug at the local hardware store.

    It should something look like this one: The one on the right is what you want. There will be several kinds to choose from but spend more than $3-4 to get a decent one...maybe even $5.

    Inside the connector, you should find a green screw, silver screw, and a gold/brass screw. Black (hot) wire goes to the gold screw, the silver one gets the white and the green/bare gets the green screw. Here is a good picture tutorial: How To Replace The Plug On An Extension Cord Or Power Cord

    This is really basic electrical stuff that I think anyone can handle.

    However, as has already been pointed out, you MUST plug this into an outlet that is GFCI protected. Or you must plug this into a circuit that is protected by a GFCI breaker.

    Your next learning phase will be on how to replace a non-GFCI duplex outlet with one that is GFCI protected. Again, this isn't difficult. Do-it-Yourself : GFCI Receptacle Installation - YouTube is pretty good.

    OR you will need to replace the non-GFCI breaker with one that is GFCI protected. Another item that isn't difficult but you need your wits about you.

    Google and YouTube are your friends. Do you have a meter that you can use to probe the outlet to make sure power is off?
    ----Chris----
    25k IG/Spa Figure 8, 18x36, Pebble Sheen Blue Granite, Sta-Rite S8M150 Cartridge Filter, Pentair 460805 400k BTU Heater & 011018 IntelliFlo VarSpd
    Liquidator, Fafco Solar Heat, Polaris PB460 Booster Pump w/280 cleaner, Katchaleaf Cover, TF100 Test Kit, FAKE MAIN DRAIN

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    445

    Re: How do I cut the GFCI plug on my intex plug and make it a normal plug

    Thanks for the instructions. I'm probably the least handy guy you will ever meet. This sounds too hard for me haha. I'll just tolerate having to reset the timer each morning, no biggie.
    Location: Long Island, NY
    Gallons: 5000 Gallons
    Pool: 15' Saltwater 5000
    Filter: Pentair 1 HP Optiflow Pump w/ Clean & Clear 75Sq Ft Cartridge Filter
    SWG: Intex CS8110

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Agent99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    688

    Re: How do I cut the GFCI plug on my intex plug and make it a normal plug

    Well if I wasn't clear across the good old U S of A from you, I'd be neighborly and handle it for you!
    ----Chris----
    25k IG/Spa Figure 8, 18x36, Pebble Sheen Blue Granite, Sta-Rite S8M150 Cartridge Filter, Pentair 460805 400k BTU Heater & 011018 IntelliFlo VarSpd
    Liquidator, Fafco Solar Heat, Polaris PB460 Booster Pump w/280 cleaner, Katchaleaf Cover, TF100 Test Kit, FAKE MAIN DRAIN

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •