Industrial Water System- Any takers?

Aug 19, 2015
Hiawassee, GA
Hi, I'm Zach, I'm a 22 year old mechanic/industrial electrician and I just started the job I always wanted in the engineering department at a company I really like a couple months ago.

Among other things I am now in charge of 3 indoor, chilled (58°F-65°F) extrusion cooling trough systems; I have 2 separate systems at the North Carolina location using well replacement water - A single system at the Georgia location using city replacement water. The 2 Locations are about 30 miles apart. In total there are (28) 1-2 hp circulation pumps with a mixture of brass, stainless, and cast impellers (28) satellite tanks (2 per extrusion line) (3) main tanks each with 4 hp main line pressurization pumps (1 per system) and we have all stainless steel tanks, troughs, and heat exchangers, all plumbing is PVC. Some satellite tanks are heated to a maximum of 90°F when running certain product.

I am here to see if I can get some input from the impressively helpful members of this forum on why the large system that feeds lines 1-7 at the NC location is so disgustingly full of brown algae. The line 8 and 9 water system is as clear as the cleanest pool you've ever seen. The 5 lines at the Georgia location are the same- perfect. We don’t do much more than put a piece of one of those pucks (I think I saw them called trichlor on this site?) in each of the clean tanks as well as sprinkle a little granulated chlorine in.