Oceanside, NY
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Hayward Aqua Rite (T-15)
I have been using the Nature2 sanitizer cartridge for 10 years and have had great success. Recently had a very rare cloudy pool with green algae starting to form on the bottom. I first hit it with Leslie's Fresh N Clear but no help so I slammed it with Di-Chlor. Algae was subsiding but cloudiness remained. Have been running the filter 24/7 for 2 weeks now, brushing and vac.. Pool store told me that Nature2 and high chlorine will cause cloudiness. I removed the Nature2 cartridge and stopped using Tri Clor tabs (my CYA is 55-60) and let the chlorine come down to 4 ppm. (CC 0).The water is a much better color and the cloudiness is just starting to look better. Any thoughts?
The water would gleam with the nature2 and the low Chlorine was easy on the skin. Liner is 15 years old but looks like 5 years old.
ph 7.5
TA 90
CYA 55-60
CH 160 - I know this is low but does it really matter with a vinyl liner? I have a diff time keeping the level up here on LI.

Thank you
streetbuc

Welcome to TFP!

Vinyl liner pools are safe with low CH values see our Recommended Levels.

To deal with the cloudy pool we follow what's called The SLAM Process, see my signature. This process will clear up the pool.

Since you have had great success with the Nature 2 I will not get into that discussion on why we do not recommend mineral based systems.