Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Chlorine to High...

1. Back To Top    #1

Chlorine to High...

Is my Chlorine to high 10ppm? All my other water test results are fine. I'm new to this pool stuff..I have a Salt system by Goldline..Should I shut the pool chlorinator off for a few days?? I first had it at 50% and 35% and know 25% and it's still sitting at 10ppm. I also have a pool cover that I keep closed all week should I crack that open as well..I love the pool cover it keeps my pool clean... Any info would be great...Thanks...
    18,000 Gallon IG, Gunite, Cartridge filters
    Rainbow 320 Chlorine feeder (not in use anymore), 2.0HP Pentair WhisperFlo
    Legend Platinum Hummer Pool Cleaner

2. Back To Top    #2
    Silver Spring, MD

Re: Chlorine to High...

Welcome to TFP!

It would help greatly if you could post a full set of water test results. FC of 10 might be too low, just right, or too high, depending on some of your other numbers. Odds are it is too high, but there is no way of saying without knowing you other numbers.

If you keep the pool covered nearly all the time, it is common for the percentage on the SWG to need to be quite low. Opening the pool cover will lower the FC level, but it would be best to know if that is a good idea or not first.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks Jason for the reply..Her are my other results

PH is 7.6

Total Alkalinity is 90

Calcium Hardness is 165

Cyanuric Acid is 30

phosphates is 100

Salt is 3300
    18,000 Gallon IG, Gunite, Cartridge filters
    Rainbow 320 Chlorine feeder (not in use anymore), 2.0HP Pentair WhisperFlo
    Legend Platinum Hummer Pool Cleaner

4. Back To Top    #4
    Pleasanton, CA