Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie here. Just fill up my 22,000gal agp. Here are my test results with two chlorin

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie here. Just fill up my 22,000gal agp. Here are my test results with two chlorin

CYA-0
    Chlorine-0
    PH-8
    Hardness-125
    TA-140

I have no clue what I'm doing
    Saltwater 8000 30ft round AGP / 22,000 gal / 1Hp Hayward variable speed super pump / Hayward 150sqft cartridge filter / Hayward Aquarite 25k gal salt system / katchakid

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie here. Just fill up my 22,000gal agp. Here are my test results with two chl

Using 2- HTH Ultra 3" chlorine tablets in two floaters
    Saltwater 8000 30ft round AGP / 22,000 gal / 1Hp Hayward variable speed super pump / Hayward 150sqft cartridge filter / Hayward Aquarite 25k gal salt system / katchakid

3. Back To Top    #3

Re: Newbie here. Just fill up my 22,000gal agp. Here are my test results with two chl

4. Back To Top    #4

1) Get the pump and filter going.
    2) Add 2 ppm FC using bleach. Poolmath can crunch the numbers for you. Expect it all to disappear within hours.
    3) Add 40 CYA using the sock method
    4) By the time you're done messing with the sock, the chlorine will have mixed and you add some acid to get pH to 7.4. 7.2 will work better to lower the TA, but the pool volume isn't always what you calculate. Better to underdose than overdose.
    5) Grit your teeth against the chilly water and
    6) Day two: add 3 FC. Recheck pH and TA and adjust if pH is above 7.8.
    7) Day 3: The CYA should all be dissolved, so target 6 FC. Target, don't add. You might have some residual, so test first and let poolmath tell you how much
    8) Days 4-6, Target 6 FC and keep pH between 7.2 and 7.8. Probably need to brush and vacuum somewhere in there.
    9) Day 7, measure CYA. Run all the tests in fact. Post results.