Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: Won"t hold chlorine?????

  1. Back To Top    #1
    robaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Glendale , Az.
    Posts
    99

    Won"t hold chlorine?????

    These are my latest test results from Leslies
    fac 0
    tac0
    ch300
    cya105
    ta100
    ph7.6
    tds750
    phos200
    Shocked with 3 lbs.dichlor wed night today nothing....just refilled the pool in oct 2014..hate to have to pump it out again...too hot now to do it anyway......HELP!!!
    Location: Phx,Az. IG gunite Pool constructed 1993 14x28 Playpool 3.5'/5'/4' depth.. 11,400 Gallons Finish: Acrylic Plaster (Ultra Poz) Tiled waterline Pump: 3Hp Pentair IntelifloVS Filter: Pentair TR100 Sand 4.91 Fil. area 74 GPM...Barracuda suction side cleaner........

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    Welcome to TFP!!!

    1. We do not trust pool store testing. So your first step must be to invest in one of the Recommended Test Kits.

    2. If you trust some of those results, your CYA is far too high and the dichlor just raised it more. So you need to replace at least half the water to get the CYA back under control and then stick to bleach. BUT, confirm the results with your own test kit.

    3. You likely need to follow the ShockLevelAndMAINTAIN Process (which again requires the FAS-DPD chlorine test in the recommended test kits) since your FC has been far too low and will not hold.

    Have you discovered Pool School yet? Start with these to get us speaking the same language:
    ABCs of Water Chemistry
    Recommended Pool Chemicals
    How to Chlorinate Your Pool
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    TFP Guide

    pabeader's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Dallas Ga
    Posts
    4,064

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    Step away from the pool $tore...
    1) Purchase a good test kit. Here is the comparison to help: http://www.troublefreepool.com/conte...its-comparison
    2) Use kit to get good, useful numbers.
    3) Post the good values from your kit.
    4) Get help from folks here.
    Bob - Palm Beach by San Juan Pools. approx 5000 gals., Pentair 320 cartridge filter (all new guts installed by me), Goldline SWG, 'New to me' Kreepy Krauly Sand Shark, Intermec 104 Timer Test kit: TF-100 w/Speed Stir

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Earl Cox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Lexington Park MD
    Posts
    314

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    Welcome to TFP jblizzle laid it out for you above read those recommended articles and most important get your test kit ASAP!
    6280 Gal Intex 17' x 52" Metal Frame AG
    2500 GPH Filter Pump
    Intex Krystal clear SWG
    Taylor K-2005 With FAS-DPD Drop TEST KIT And Speedstir
    Intex Robot Pool Cleaner

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Raleigh
    Posts
    357

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    Welcome.

    You should spend some time reading the pool school links and chemistry 101. Because you've been using tabs and shock your CYA is high and becoming unmanageable because at 105 you'll need to maintain chlorine in the FC range of 12. That'll be alot of bleach. Your best bet will be to do a 50% water change to bring your Cya down to 50 which is more manageable.

    Second you need to stay away from the pool store and get your own quality testing kit. Either the tf-100 or the taylor 2006. The pool stores are notorious for bad testing procedures and we usually are reluctant to dispense advice based on erroneous numbers from the pool store.
    18' x 38' Pool, 3' to 8' Depth
    Vinyl Liner
    SWG
    Variable Speed Pump
    Sand Filter

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry

    Donldson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    2,636

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    Welcome to TFP!

    Well, assuming your CYA level is correct and then you added another 3 lbs of dichlor then you are now looking at 120 CYA, which is past the point of reasonable usability and with continued tablet use it is only continuing to rise...
    JD - 28' Round Above Ground Pool, 17,000 Gallons. Dual speed Jacuzzi pump with cartridge filter. Dual speed 1 HP pump, Hayward S210T sand filter
    Pool School - PoolMath - HIGHLY Recommended Test Kits

  7. Back To Top    #7
    robaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Glendale , Az.
    Posts
    99

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    I've been looking at this site on and off b4 joining..Yes i need to purchase a good test kit....and will check out shock level and maintain...Thx for the quick response Jason....Btw this kid at the pool store tryed to sell me this stuff called bioactive cya reducer 8oz powder you pour in the skimmer....reduces cya by half>>>ever heard of this stuff???..thx again
    Location: Phx,Az. IG gunite Pool constructed 1993 14x28 Playpool 3.5'/5'/4' depth.. 11,400 Gallons Finish: Acrylic Plaster (Ultra Poz) Tiled waterline Pump: 3Hp Pentair IntelifloVS Filter: Pentair TR100 Sand 4.91 Fil. area 74 GPM...Barracuda suction side cleaner........

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    Search the forum for BioActive ... I am not sure we saw 1 reliable post about it working and many posts where after multiple applications there was no reduction. Seems like snake oil at this point.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    We've had pretty bad results with this product, even worse than those reported in Amazon reviews (52% 1-star) and Leslie's reviews (42% 1-star) which may have some shills. We had one person with a conversion that ended up going only to ammonia so created a HUGE chlorine demand costing more than the product itself to clear up. We cannot recommend this product.
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  10. Back To Top    #10
    robaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Glendale , Az.
    Posts
    99

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    OK so till i get my dpd test kit how can i keep my chlor up so the pool wont go green.....Its crystal clear now...gallon of liquid every evening??
    Location: Phx,Az. IG gunite Pool constructed 1993 14x28 Playpool 3.5'/5'/4' depth.. 11,400 Gallons Finish: Acrylic Plaster (Ultra Poz) Tiled waterline Pump: 3Hp Pentair IntelifloVS Filter: Pentair TR100 Sand 4.91 Fil. area 74 GPM...Barracuda suction side cleaner........

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    You can use PoolMath to calculate dosages, but for a minimum 7.5% FC for your 105 ppm CYA level (if that is to be believed -- you really should get your own proper test kit -- see Test Kits Compared and it's a FAS-DPD chlorine kit you want, NOT DPD) then that is 8 ppm FC minimum which for your 11,400 gallon pool would be roughly one gallon of 8.25% bleach (that should get you to 7.6 ppm FC) or 11 cups of 12.5% chlorinating liquid, BUT it should not require that every day. You should only be losing 2-3 ppm FC per day unless you've got algae growth so just add whatever is needed to maintain at least 8 ppm FC minimum (i.e. at the low point of the day just before you add more chlorine). If you are unable to hold chlorine well, then you'll need to SLAM your pool but that takes a LOT of chlorine at your high CYA level so you'd be better off with partial drain/refill to lower the CYA level.

    By the way, adding Dichlor was the worst possible type of chlorine you could have added to your pool since for every 10 ppm Free Chlorine (FC) added by Dichlor, it also increases Cyanuric Acid (CYA) by 9 ppm.
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    Correction: you need the FAS-DPD chlorine test. NOT the DPD chlorine test.

    Assuming the CYA level is correct (which is a horrendous assumption), you need to maintain the FC above 8ppm ... so around 10ppm.
    Using PoolMath, it would take 169oz of 8.25% bleach to add 10ppm.

    One bottle would add 7ppm. I think I would add 2 bottles tonight and then 1/2 bottle daily until your test kit arrives.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  13. Back To Top    #13
    robaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Glendale , Az.
    Posts
    99

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    ThxChem..but like i said its too hot in AZ to drain right now....and i read the slam part but im a little unclear on it....I'lladd the amounts you suggest and play it by ear i guess..thx again

    - - - Updated - - -

    I'll do that thank you
    Location: Phx,Az. IG gunite Pool constructed 1993 14x28 Playpool 3.5'/5'/4' depth.. 11,400 Gallons Finish: Acrylic Plaster (Ultra Poz) Tiled waterline Pump: 3Hp Pentair IntelifloVS Filter: Pentair TR100 Sand 4.91 Fil. area 74 GPM...Barracuda suction side cleaner........

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    There are methods where you can drain and fill at the same time to avoid exposing the plaster to the heat/sun. Just uses more water.

    Since the supply water is likely cooler (down right frigid tap water we have ) than the pool water, you can fill at the deepest point and drain at the upper water levels on the opposite end of the pool. You would probably want to use a cheap submersible pump from Harbor Freight that will not have high flow rates so your fill hose can keep up.

    Leave the pool pump off for as long as you exchange water (might need almost 24 hours assuming about 5 gallons a minute). Then run the pool pump for about an hour and retest the CYA. Repeat as required.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  15. Back To Top    #15
    Beens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Posts
    1,171

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    You poor thing! You got pool stored!

    They just sort of load you up with stabilized chlorine products (pucks and powder shock) then when the pool is completely overstabilized you're stuck draining to lower your levels to something more manageable.

    You're doing yourself a huge by getting the right test kit and doing it the TFP way!

    Once you get straightened back out there won't be any more roller coaster pool care.

    Everyone's got you covered for advice so I just wanted to welcome you to the forum! Glad you found us before another ride on the pool store roller coaster!
    18' x 48" (42" water depth) Intex Metal Frame 6,700 Gallons
    Hayward Power-Flo LX 1.0 HP pump
    Hayward Pro Series S166T Sand Filter
    Original Intex Floating Skimmer

  16. Back To Top    #16
    robaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Glendale , Az.
    Posts
    99

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    Quote Originally Posted by Beens View Post
    You poor thing! You got pool stored!

    They just sort of load you up with stabilized chlorine products (pucks and powder shock) then when the pool is completely overstabilized you're stuck draining to lower your levels to something more manageable.

    You're doing yourself a huge by getting the right test kit and doing it the TFP way!

    Once you get straightened back out there won't be any more roller coaster pool care.

    Everyone's got you covered for advice so I just wanted to welcome you to the forum! Glad you found us before another ride on the pool store roller coaster!
    Thx Beens...but this SLAM thing has me a bit confused???
    Location: Phx,Az. IG gunite Pool constructed 1993 14x28 Playpool 3.5'/5'/4' depth.. 11,400 Gallons Finish: Acrylic Plaster (Ultra Poz) Tiled waterline Pump: 3Hp Pentair IntelifloVS Filter: Pentair TR100 Sand 4.91 Fil. area 74 GPM...Barracuda suction side cleaner........

  17. Back To Top    #17
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    Care to elaborate on what is confusing to you?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  18. Back To Top    #18
    robaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Glendale , Az.
    Posts
    99

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    Care to elaborate on what is confusing to you?
    First off i cant afford pumping out water as i put fresh water in....Ive had this pool 22 yrs and never had this prob b4.....The cya /chlor chart says i cant do the slam because my cya is 100+....so i assume i cant wait till its winter to refill it....And what pees me off the most is i just refilled it in Oct.of 2014...I'm just really confused as to what to do??
    Location: Phx,Az. IG gunite Pool constructed 1993 14x28 Playpool 3.5'/5'/4' depth.. 11,400 Gallons Finish: Acrylic Plaster (Ultra Poz) Tiled waterline Pump: 3Hp Pentair IntelifloVS Filter: Pentair TR100 Sand 4.91 Fil. area 74 GPM...Barracuda suction side cleaner........

  19. Back To Top    #19
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    There really is no option. You need to SLAM the pool to eradicate whatever is in the water. And to realistically do that, you need to lower the CYA. And to do that, you need to replace water. Sorry. The only other option, assuming the water is clear, is to hire a company to perform a Reverse Osmosis treatment. Although after calling for a quote, I guarantee you will not think replacing water is too expensive.

    Now you are learning what all the pucks and chlorine powders have done to your pool that I assume you have been using.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  20. Back To Top    #20
    robaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Glendale , Az.
    Posts
    99

    Re: Won"t hold chlorine?????

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    There really is no option. You need to SLAM the pool to eradicate whatever is in the water. And to realistically do that, you need to lower the CYA. And to do that, you need to replace water. Sorry. The only other option, assuming the water is clear, is to hire a company to perform a Reverse Osmosis treatment. Although after calling for a quote, I guarantee you will not think replacing water is too expensive.

    Now you are learning what all the pucks and chlorine powders have done to your pool that I assume you have been using.
    No i appreciate the input really...but how low do i have to get it to perform the slam?? What i'm saying is i live on a fixed income and have back problems so i really devote myself to doing this now is there anything i can do to keep the pool going till it cools off in sept or oct??? When i can have it drained?
    Location: Phx,Az. IG gunite Pool constructed 1993 14x28 Playpool 3.5'/5'/4' depth.. 11,400 Gallons Finish: Acrylic Plaster (Ultra Poz) Tiled waterline Pump: 3Hp Pentair IntelifloVS Filter: Pentair TR100 Sand 4.91 Fil. area 74 GPM...Barracuda suction side cleaner........

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •