Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My Advice to Newbies - Use the Chlorine Pucks Until...

1. Back To Top    #1

My Advice to Newbies - Use the Chlorine Pucks Until...

As a newbie myself, now that I am three months in, I wish I had done things differently. This site is about self pool maintenance. However, learning how to run a pool takes time and experience. It's much more difficult to get the water balanced for a newbie than the seasoned veterans on here who have had their water balanced for years. Most likely, you are inheriting a pool which has been neglected. If I were to start over, I would have used the chlorine pucks in the beginning (which are shunned on this site), because they are somewhat self regulating, something you need while trying to learn how to run a pool. Because I didn't know what I was doing, I have pool stains and three trips to the doctor to show for it. I've got a mess on my hands. None of us wants to harm our pool or ourselves, but diving in with both feet, so to speak, is not the answer.

Here is what I would do in order.

1) Use chlorine pucks to start.
    2) Get a full test kit, and learn how to use it based on the directions. Don't bother taking your water to the pool store. They do not do accurate work, and can get you going in completely the wrong direction.
    3) Determine if your water needs changing due to high cyanuric acid or high calcium hardness. There is no use in trying to balance bad water. Don't even attempt it.
    4) Get all the chemicals you will need to keep your water balanced for the time you later remove the pucks, and learn how to use the chemicals prior to removing the pucks. This generally includes bleach and muriatic acid. Example: You don't just want to pour acid into a pool, because that can harm the finish. There are techniques, which I wish this site had outlined someplace, to prevent pool and people damage.