Unsure about what to do after I back washed to waste.

Aug 5, 2015
rowlett/tx
I'm new at maintaining pool. This was my husband's task; he passed away so I'm trying to manage this myself without employing someone to do it for me. I think I have algae so rather than simply backwash I backwashed to waste. However, I didn't add any DE powder after I had finished. The pool cleared--it appeared. However, 1.5 days later and pump has it looks like I never vacuumed; floor of pool needs cleaning againing. Should I add DE powder:confused:

MUCH more important is to first get one of the test kits we recommend (see in my siggy line) and we need full details about your pool, its surface and equipment. How are you currently chlorinating the pool- can you get some liquid chlorine (aka "bleach") in there to at least stun some of the algae while waiting for your test kit?

If you vacuumed to waste you bypassed the filter so presumably didn't lose any DE in the process would imagine. Is it a DE filter or did you add DE to a sand filter?

Please start reading the Pool School articles which deal with "How do I..." which can be found at the top righthand side of this website.

Bring back any more questions and lets work together to get this pool in line :)

Welcome wnorm51, and I'm truly sorry for your loss,

I am a newbie here too, and I was doing most everything Wrong and had no clue myself so I too am trying to figure it all out so We can just learn together. I can help you on some of the details.

It sounds like you might also need to SLAM the pool, but I will leave that determination, and those bigger details to the pros on this site who will be along shortly.

But I promise you, you have come to the right place for help. You will learn so much by being here. :)

Some of the things they will need from you when they arrive is for you to have your signature filled out already. Here is a link that describes how to do that. http://www.troublefreepool.com/content/115-read-before-you-post