Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Lighting, filters, decking oh my!?

1. Back To Top    #1

Lighting, filters, decking oh my!?

We are currently having a new pool installed 24 x 41 Lagoon shaped pool. Pool is under construction, we are waiting on electrical inspection so we can fill the remainder of the pool and backfill. I know nothing about pools so I'm a newbie and I have a couple of questions and concerns before the project is completed.

First thing, we got a frog mineral system. This is what came with the pool. A salt system would've only been a couple hundred dollar upgrade. We were advised they are both similar. Both are less maintenance than chlorine and convert to a chlorine. Does anyone have experience with this kind of system. Do the minerals effect the water color and how so? Does it affect hair-color worse or better than straight chlorine? Does it keep the water clean and sparkling?

Anyone have Hayward LED lights? We put one large in the deep end and two small in our sundeck. What do they look like at night? I googled images but pictures are always touched up. Any pictures of LED lights would be appreciated.

We also picked out the tan pebble liner. Upon the first fill its looks a little green and not the Aqua color it's suppose to bring. But filters haven't been on yet and pool hasn't been treated yet. Any idea if the water color will change if it's up and running? Don't want the pool to look like algae!

And last but not least. Pool deck and fence! We are doing a black aluminum fence and we are torn between doing the fence in just a plain rectangle or following the free form shape of the pool. Any advice and pictures appreciated!? Also the stamped concrete. Torn on color ideas and where to put the pool decking. Again any advice or pictures is greatly appreciated! Here are some pictures of the project thus far! Thanks.

28,000 Gallon Inground Vinyl Liner Pool (Sandstone)