Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: How to add CYA

1. Back To Top    #1

How to add CYA

Ok I am new to this and not sure if im in th e right place to post, but here I go...
    I have a colman vinyl 16x48 about 5000 gal above ground pool with a intex saltwater system, and a intex sand filter system..I live in Hawaii and it is Hot and we have very Hard water...

so I have some powder likecyanuric acid or stabilizer for my pool, not the liquid but kind of looks likegrains of salt. from what I know it is used to protect yourchlorine in the pool so uv rays don't eat up the chlorine. all the videos andtips ive seen online of how to add cyanuric acid to your pool is all in anunderground pool and they add it to their underground skimmer system. how do Iadd the cyanuric acid to my above ground pool, its 16ft round 4ft deep intexpool with a krystal clear sand filter. the filter has a leaf skimmer basketwhere water is pulled in and then passes to the sand filter then back to thepool, but it feels that if I add the cyanuric acid to the leaf skimmer it willdamage it or just be washed away when it passes through the sand filter, so howdo I add it correctly. thanks very much
    I have a Coleman 16X48 above ground pool with a saltwater system and a Krystal clear 16in (410 mm) intex sand filter pump.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: How to add CYA

Welcome to TFP. Do not add any chemicals to your pool until you know your levels. Did you already order your test kit TF-100 or the taylor K-2006 is recommended. Once you get your levels you will know where to go from there. Is your water clear?
    6280 Gal Intex 17' x 52" Metal Frame AG
    2500 GPH Filter Pump
    Intex Krystal clear SWG
    Taylor K-2005 With FAS-DPD Drop TEST KIT And Speedstir
    Intex Robot Pool Cleaner

3. Back To Top    #3

I took a sample to the pool store and he said to add 1lb of CYA, but didnt say how to add it.