Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: HELP! Pump Issues

1. Back To Top    #1

HELP! Pump Issues

This is our first year with a pool so I'm just learning the ropes. This morning I went to check on the pool & the pump sounds like it is running but the filter has ZERO pressure. The water in the pump basket was extremely hot... like steam coming out when I removed the lid and I had to dilute it with cold water before I could stick my hand in. I checked for obstructions & didn't find anything. I tried to put the pump on backwash & didn't get any water movement there either. Obviously, I just turned the pump off until the problem gets resolved.

Any idea what could be going on? We called a pool service company but they won't be out for a couple days and I'd like to know what I'm talking about before they get here. Also, can I keep adding chlorine as needed even though the water is not circulating?

Thanks a bunch for any input!!!
    Kelly
    ~~~~~~
    32x16 rectangular vinyl in-ground pool (21,000-23,000 gallons?) filled with well water. 24" Hayward sand filter & a Hayward super pump (unsure of model # or specifications). TF-100 test kit.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: HELP! Pump Issues

Your pump is starving for water, there is a blockage somewhere. The hot water is cause by the pump impeller churning the water without being able to move it.
    Check the skimmers for blockage. Sometimes toys or objects can get in there and not allow them to open, introducing air and starving the pump.

You can add bleach, just do some brushing to agitate the water. Better than no bleach at all while you wait.

Good Luck.
    20,000 gal IGV 18x36x6 with 4' radius, Pentair Ultra Flow 1hp, Pentair CC75 cartridge filter, Stenner 45MP2. Built 2003.

Chemistry teaches us that alcohol is a solution. That figures, as I have solved many of the world's problems while drinking!

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry