SLAMing colored plaster pool

Jul 27, 2015
Kelseyville, CA
My 2012-built concrete/colored plaster (gray) salt water pool operated fine in 2012 and 2013 with the SWG. I didn't have to add any liquid chlorine at all either year. However, 2014 is a completely different story! With my SWG set at 100%, I have to add liquid chlorine all the time. It is as if my SWG is not operating at all. My pool installer even gave me a new IntelliChlor IC40, but it operates the same as the original one. I still have to add chlorine regularly to maintain FC

After reading some posts (I'm new to TFP) I'm thinking I need to SLAM my pool, as I have some signs of green algae growing in a few places, although the water remains pretty clear.

PoolMath says I need to bring my FC to 28 to SLAM the pool, which means I have to add over 4-1/2 gallons of 12.5% Sodium hypochlorite.

Where do I add this much chlorine? I have already discolored my tanning shelf with chlorine or acid by pouring over it.
What will this do to the colored plaster of the rest of the pool?
How long do I need to maintain that FC level?
How do I even test FC to determine if I'm at that level, as my tester only goes to 5! The SLAM instructions say I need to check the FC level regularly to maintain the high level.

Current numbers (yesterday, before adding 2 gal of liquid chlorine):

Temp. 83 degrees
Saturation index 0.2
TDS 286
CYA 70
FC 0.5
pH 7.4
Adjusted TA 104
Tot. hardness 430
Salt 3400

I long for the good old days of having the SWG handle my FC levels.

Hello and welcome to TFP! You are correct - green means to SLAM. Regular liquid bleach is fine for your pool and equipment when added in the manner as described by the Poolmath calculator and the Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart. You add the bleach slowly near a return jet with the pump on for about 30 minutes. When you SLAM, you do so and “Maintain” it that way until 3 objectives are met:
1. Water is clear