Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Need water bonding reducer...... Or something!

1. Back To Top    #1

Need water bonding reducer...... Or something!

I'm new to pools.

Have an agp.

All fittings and connections are 1.5 in.

Need to add a water bonder. Problem is that it acts like a reducer. Threaded end is for 1.5 in, other end is for 1.25 in( through measuring and experimenting)

What the best and /or easiest way to make this happen?
    I was thinking a reducer, but thOse are solid plastic, how would I make this not leak?

Thanks for the help.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Need water bonding reducer...... Or something!

That should be an 1.5 inch hose barb. If you are trying to fit pipe to pipe, you have the wrong part.....

3. Back To Top    #3

Additionally, where are you putting that in line? That type bond should not be used if it can be isolated from the bulk pool water with a valve. This is a very hot topic I stumbled into on an electrical forum.

I prefer the bonding plates that go in a skimmer or light niche because they can never be isolated from the water.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

4. Back To Top    #4

Bottom line is: you don't need that contraption, anyway, if you have a pump with a metal housing and everything is bonded properly.

5. Back To Top    #5

Quote Originally Posted by ewkearns View Post
    Bottom line is: you don't need that contraption, anyway, if you have a pump with a metal housing and everything is bonded properly.