Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can I run pool vacuum with water level lower than port?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Central FL
    Posts
    60

    Can I run pool vacuum with water level lower than port?

    Doing work on my nightmare pool (tile at bottom steps, pool light other stuff). Therefore, water level is low, just below bottom step.

    For a little while the pump/filter was off, pool got nasty. Now I have it back on during the day, but just filteringfrom bottom drain. Hope that's enough.

    Anyway, since the water is below the vacuum port, can I run it? I really need to get this griminess off the bottom. I tried to turn it on but it didn't work, left it on a minute thinking I just needed to let enough water prime through the lines, but it didn't seem seem to be working and never "grabbed" the bottom like it normally does when it is vacuuming and shaking and pulling itself around the bottom of the pool. Didn't happen. Also, the returns stopped spewing water out in the pool, and went down to a trickle.

    So is it possible to still use? Maybe I didn't 'seal up' the port well enough and it was pulling air through?

    4zgvBrR.jpg

  2. Back To Top    #2
    TrevNJPool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    atco/nj
    Posts
    142

    Re: Can I run pool vacuum with water level lower than port?

    I would think that you would get too much air in the system with all the the ports out of the water. I wouldn't run my pump either for fear of burning it out.dump bleach to about 10ppm in the water you have there and use ur brush to move it around. Use a manual leaf rake to get the solids out.Just keep adding bleach to that nasty water. Maybe you can clear it up. Heck, just finish draining it and start fresh
    40x18 Lazy L Rectangle
    29500gal IG w/ vinyl liner
    HAYWARD S244T 300lb sand filter
    Hayward Super Pump 1 1/2hp

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Central FL
    Posts
    60

    Re: Can I run pool vacuum with water level lower than port?

    Quote Originally Posted by TrevNJPool View Post
    I would think that you would get too much air in the system with all the the ports out of the water. I wouldn't run my pump either for fear of burning it out.dump bleach to about 10ppm in the water you have there and use ur brush to move it around. Use a manual leaf rake to get the solids out.Just keep adding bleach to that nasty water. Maybe you can clear it up. Heck, just finish draining it and start fresh
    I really would just drain it all the way down. Just worried about the water table here in Central FL. But, that means I'd have to get all the way in the nasty a** pool to try and open the hydrostatic plug (I think I have one in the main drain housing). Any ideas how I can accomplish that?

    Is this in fact a hydrostatic plug (earlier picture)?

    If so, anyone know how to remove? What type/size tool?

  4. Back To Top    #4


    TFP Guide

    domct203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    3,375

    Re: Can I run pool vacuum with water level lower than port?

    I would not drain completely until water table is confirmed. How deep is the deep end? Are you able to dig a small hole by the pool to that depth?

    Dom
    Dom - TFP Guide
    Intex 18' X 48" Ultra Frame AGP 6700 gallons | Two Intex CS8110 SWG's | Hayward Pro Series 21" Sandfilter | Hayward 1.5HP Power Flo Matrix pump | Hayward Thru-wall Skimmer | Wanda the Whale | 72 sq ft of Sungrabber Solar Panels with Hayward GLC-2P-A | Taylor K2006 Test Kit, Sample Sizer & Speed Stir | Click Here To Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5
    TrevNJPool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    atco/nj
    Posts
    142

    Re: Can I run pool vacuum with water level lower than port?

    I would use a sump pump. You can probably rent one cheap. Maybe wait until your ready to refill and pump and run the hose at the same time. Flip the water around. That plug is probably just a plug in the box that isnt plumbed.
    40x18 Lazy L Rectangle
    29500gal IG w/ vinyl liner
    HAYWARD S244T 300lb sand filter
    Hayward Super Pump 1 1/2hp

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Central FL
    Posts
    60

    Re: Can I run pool vacuum with water level lower than port?

    Quote Originally Posted by TrevNJPool View Post
    That plug is probably just a plug in the box that isnt plumbed.
    (1)Even if it were a plug that isn't plumbed, wouldn't it still do the job of a hydrostatic plug by removing it? Wouldn't the water still come through it into the pool?

    Also, just to confirm,(2) it's not ok to run the pump at all even if only from the main drain? I just want to keep filtering it as much as I possibly can while the water is down to keep it from getting too bad..

    Both those questions are equally important to me to know and I very much appreciate everyones help!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Central FL
    Posts
    60

    Re: Can I run pool vacuum with water level lower than port?

    Bump please for those two questions. :

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •