Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Pump too powerful

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Clinton,Iowa
    Posts
    42

    Angry Pump too powerful

    So I had a 2 speed pump, installed 2 solar heaters and was getting hardly any flow out of the return. Talked to the local pool guy who sold me a one speed 1.5 horse pump. I have a cartridge filter and now the pump trips off due to water flow. I have hi pressure coming out now but it is too much. Pool guy wants me to buy a sand filter now but I am happy with my cartridge filter. Grrr Help.
    28' Above Ground Pool, 20,000 Gallons
    Sand Filter"
    Model #AC16985
    Pool built in July 2012
    Clinton, Iowa

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,342

    Re: Pump too powerful

    We need more info in order to help you. Your pump isn't tripping off due to water flow.

    What is your filter pressure when running on solar?
    What is your filter pressure when not running on solar?

    Why do you think your pump is tripping on flow?
    Is it high or low flow?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Clinton,Iowa
    Posts
    42

    Re: Pump too powerful

    Its high flow now and the pressure is close to 13 when solars on on and 11 when they are off. The guy I bought the pump from told me that is why its tripping. My old pump was only showing about 3 for a pressure.
    28' Above Ground Pool, 20,000 Gallons
    Sand Filter"
    Model #AC16985
    Pool built in July 2012
    Clinton, Iowa

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,342

    Re: Pump too powerful

    Was that 3 psi when it was on low speed?

    Those pressures sound about right to me. I don't believe it's tripping because of flow or pressure. In fact, the more pressure you have the less current the motor draws.

    Is it tripping the breaker? If so, what size is the breaker, and is it 120 volt or 240 volt?

    What was size, model, etc. of the old pump?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Clinton,Iowa
    Posts
    42

    Re: Pump too powerful

    Old pump was a Waterway SD-20-2N11MD 1.5 hp. It s tripping hte breaker on the GFCI. 120V
    28' Above Ground Pool, 20,000 Gallons
    Sand Filter"
    Model #AC16985
    Pool built in July 2012
    Clinton, Iowa

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,342

    Re: Pump too powerful

    If the old one was a 2-speed 1½ hp and the new one is a single speed 1½ hp then it shouldn't trip the breaker. Those pumps should draw about the same amount of current on high. It could be a bad pump or a weak breaker.

    How long does it run before it trips the breaker?
    What amperage is the breaker?
    Is the pump hard wired or plug-in?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Clinton,Iowa
    Posts
    42

    Re: Pump too powerful

    I will have to time it to see. It is a plug in and the not sure of the amperage. It is just a regular GFCI outlet.
    28' Above Ground Pool, 20,000 Gallons
    Sand Filter"
    Model #AC16985
    Pool built in July 2012
    Clinton, Iowa

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Wildomar, California
    Posts
    423

    Re: Pump too powerful

    You bought a 1.5hp motor and its hooked up to 110v? My guess is that the voltage is the issue maybe. Even for an aboveground pool I think you should check that out with a meter.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Clinton,Iowa
    Posts
    42

    Re: Pump too powerful

    I had it plugged into a timer then the timer into the outlet. The cord on the timer seem a hot. I unplugged it from the timer and plugged it into the outlet directly and am timing it now.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Runs 8 minutes
    28' Above Ground Pool, 20,000 Gallons
    Sand Filter"
    Model #AC16985
    Pool built in July 2012
    Clinton, Iowa

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,342

    Re: Pump too powerful

    What is the make and model of the new pump.

    Even though it's rated as a 1½ hp, it's rated SPL so it's way over rated. It's about equivalent to a 1hp.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    508

    Re: Pump too powerful

    What is the amperage of the pump? What is the amperage of the circuit breaker?

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Clinton,Iowa
    Posts
    42

    Re: Pump too powerful

    Dynamo Model #548AB86A03 max Amps 12. Not sure on the GFCI.
    28' Above Ground Pool, 20,000 Gallons
    Sand Filter"
    Model #AC16985
    Pool built in July 2012
    Clinton, Iowa

  13. Back To Top    #13
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,482

    Re: Pump too powerful

    So is it the actual breaker that is tripping or the GFCI protection that is tripping (button pops out)?
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Clinton,Iowa
    Posts
    42

    Re: Pump too powerful

    GFCI
    28' Above Ground Pool, 20,000 Gallons
    Sand Filter"
    Model #AC16985
    Pool built in July 2012
    Clinton, Iowa

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    508

    Re: Pump too powerful

    Hmmm, perhaps the GFCI is bad?

  16. Back To Top    #16
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,482

    Re: Pump too powerful

    Either that or the new pump motor has a ground fault. A loose wire on the GFCI can sometimes cause that as well.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Clinton,Iowa
    Posts
    42

    Re: Pump too powerful

    I did not have any problems with the other pump. Only started when I put this one in.
    28' Above Ground Pool, 20,000 Gallons
    Sand Filter"
    Model #AC16985
    Pool built in July 2012
    Clinton, Iowa

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    508

    Re: Pump too powerful

    Sure you may have not had a issue it the old pump, but there could be a issue with the new one.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •