Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Jandy Aqualink RS6 - Wired All Button Remote Issue

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    Posts
    41

    Jandy Aqualink RS6 - Wired All Button Remote Issue

    I have a Jandy AquaLink RS6 wired all button remote that has stopped working. Everything else with Aqualink RS is working correctly, including the daily pump schedule. The remote operated properly for several years and then started to randomly turn on and off (all lights would engage on the display). After approximately two months, the remote simply went dead. The wiring is good and the remote has power (confirmed at RS sub panel).

    A new remote is $300+ and I would almost rather upgrade the system to have iphone capabilities. Any suggestions on easy fix or upgrade? Thx
    52k gal, Pebbleteck, Pentiar Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro-Guard D.E. Filter, Raypack 407A Heater, AquaLink RS by Jandy, Aqua Rite Chlorinator x2, Hayward Turbo Cell x2, The Pool Cleaner robot

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    Posts
    41

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 - Wired All Button Remote Issue

    is this the upgrade system I would use?

    Jandy IQ20-RS iAquaLink RS 2.0 Interface Kit with PCB Board...........$479.99
    52k gal, Pebbleteck, Pentiar Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro-Guard D.E. Filter, Raypack 407A Heater, AquaLink RS by Jandy, Aqua Rite Chlorinator x2, Hayward Turbo Cell x2, The Pool Cleaner robot

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Wellington, FL
    Posts
    44

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 - Wired All Button Remote Issue

    I actually asked Jandy/Zodiac the same thing in April, here is what they said:

    Vista, TechSupport <techsupport.vista@zodiac.com>
    Apr 20

    to me
    Good afternoon,

    The part I recommend you have installed is IQ900-RS or IQ20-RS. This part includes a new Aqualink RS board, a Pool/Spa Combo 8 auxiliary chip, and an iAqualink antenna box that allows you to go online and control your pool equipment from a laptop, computer, iPad, smartphone, etc.

    This is a major upgrade that is often used by installers when they need to upgrade a system to allow for LED lights control, variable speed pump control, iAqualink control, or simply when a board needs to be replaced.

    If you have any questions, please let us know. Otherwise, you can click on the link below to find a local service company in your area that can sell and install this for you. Have a great day!

    Find a Pool Pro | Zodiac Pool Systems, Inc.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    Posts
    41

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 - Wired All Button Remote Issue

    Thank you, did you install either? I have two Hayward SwimPure Plus chlorine generators and two Tcell15's. Does anyone know if the IQ-20 interfaces and gives me a display of chlorine output? Im debating whether I replace the whole control system for $1000 or just upgrade for $500. Any and all advice is welcome
    52k gal, Pebbleteck, Pentiar Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro-Guard D.E. Filter, Raypack 407A Heater, AquaLink RS by Jandy, Aqua Rite Chlorinator x2, Hayward Turbo Cell x2, The Pool Cleaner robot

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    Posts
    41

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 - Wired All Button Remote Issue

    I called Jandy and they indicated I only need the IQ20-A and not the IQ20-RS. The technician was not 100% sure rather "very confident" I only need the A, even though I gave him my existing model information. It's about $200 cheaper for the A vs RS. Anyone else installed the A with my system before? Thx
    52k gal, Pebbleteck, Pentiar Intelliflo VS, Hayward Pro-Guard D.E. Filter, Raypack 407A Heater, AquaLink RS by Jandy, Aqua Rite Chlorinator x2, Hayward Turbo Cell x2, The Pool Cleaner robot

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    21

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 - Wired All Button Remote Issue

    From your list of equipment, your SWG is an AquaRite. Your new setup will not be able to communicate with the AquaRite unless to take proper steps before powering up the 2 pieces of equipment for the first time. Depending on the revision of the AquaRite is, you will need to change the emulation mode to Al-5. Not all revisions of AquaRite support this. If your doesn't don't connect them directly together. I use a device that connects between the Aqualink and the AquaRite since my AquaRite does support AL-5. You should check this with your old system first and see what SWG the Aqualink reports. If you don't and run the new Jandy connected to the AquaRite, you could lock out all SWG from your controller.
    Jandy iAqualink RS-8 Rev T, OneTouch, Chlorinator Translator, & AquaRite Rev 1.3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •