Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Adjusting PH and TA. Which First?

1. Back To Top    #1

Adjusting PH and TA. Which First?

My FC is 1, and I just added 110oz of bleach per the pool calculator to get it to 4. I'll retest in a couple hours.

PH is at 8, and TA is 70.

So, if I understand, adding baking soda to increase TA will also increase PH. So which level should I adjust first? Increase TA (and by default increase PH), then adjust the PH down tomorrow?

I'm still learning the effect each of these levels have on the other. Thanks for the help.
    18,000 gallons
    In-ground
    Gunite
    Chlorine
    DE Filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Adjusting PH and TA. Which First?

Why do you THINK you need to raise TA? I'd get the PH down to 7.4 first even in case you don't!
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3

Just fix the pH and be done with it.

If you target 7.5 pH, poolmath only says to add 18 oz of Muriatic Acid.

Scroll down to Effects of Adding Chemicals and see what 18 oz of MA does...TA will reduce by 3.9. You probably won't even be able to see the difference in TA when you test again.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

4. Back To Top    #4

TFP Guide

A TA of 70 is not a problem. In fact, I wish mine were that low.
    chiefwej