Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Concrete Questions

1. Back To Top    #1

Concrete Questions

This is our 20x40 Vinyl IG Pool built in March 2003. As you can see, it is bordered by red bricks. We did not install this pool, and have no contact with the construction company who did, so I am looking here for help. There is a small gap in between the actual concrete pads around the pool and the red bricks. In most parts it is filled with a concrete like substance, but in others there is something that looks like silicone caulking. The silicone parts are starting to lift and pull out, and the concrete like parts are breaking up and falling out. Any suggestions on who to hire to fix this or if it is even a DIY project? The bricks are also falling apart in places, so I am also wondering who to hire to fix those. Any suggestions would be appreciated! I am new to the pool business, we just purchased this house two years ago, and I am wondering if this is normal wear or whether they should have lasted longer.
    36k, IG vinyl, Tagelus sand filter, 1.5 hp Pentair Challenger pump, built 3/2003, Intellichlor SWG 7/2012 in South Central KS
    Dolphin Diagnostic Cleaner, Taylor 2006 test kit & K-1766 Sodium Chloride test kit

2. Back To Top    #2
    Spring, TX

Re: Concrete Questions

Sounds like they used grout and in some areas it was cracking up so the used some caulk to patch it up.
    One DIY solution for this would be to dig out the caulk and the grout and then use one of those driveway expansion joint fillers.
    It comes in caulk gun tubes. Something like this:

When you say the "bricks are also falling apart" are they crumbling or are they loose and coming off.
    - If they are crumbling and is only the odd brick you could just replace these.
    - If it is a lot of them, the original choice of brick was wrong for use as coping. That is a contractor job to replace all your coping.