Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Dead frogs in pool - should I be concerned?

1. Back To Top    #1

Temple Terrace, FL

Dead frogs in pool - should I be concerned?

I'm new to TFP and had a question about an odd thing that happened this past weekend. I'm restoring a pool that had not been serviced in nearly three years. After a lot of cleaning and a 3+ week SLAM I can see very positive results. My CC has been .5 PPM or lower for two days, and I'm only losing about 3 PPM of FC overnight, so the end is near. I know the folks here love pictures, so I have a before/after shot below.

My question is related to thing that happened this past weekend. I was too lazy to measure chlorine, so I dumped whatever was left in my jug at the end of the day and took a reading after sunset. FC was 22 PPM. The next day I went to check on the pool and saw about 6 or 7 frogs swimming in the pool. I grabbed the net and successfully relocated all of them. When I pulled up the skimmer lid it was a mess. It was full of dead frogs... over a dozen. My guess is that those unfortunate creatures that decided to swim into the skimmer basket got sucked down below the surface and drowned. But could it have been the high chlorine levels? Knowing that this pool started out as a festering swamp, could it be something else in the water? I have seen (and rescued) other bugs and critters during this SLAM process, but had not seen so many casualties up to this point.

Attached Images Attached Images
    33' x 14', 21K IG plaster, Hayward sand filter, 3/4 HP pump, CompuPool SWG (not used at the time), TF-100 test kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Chickasha, OK

Re: Dead frogs in pool - should I be concerned?

I have 1-2 dead frogs in my skimmer each day when I check it. It's not unusual to have 3-4 once or twice a week. My backyard backs up to a creek, and the pond is 100 yards from my fence. That's just the nature of things. (See what I did there...?)