Sand filter spewing dirt back

Apr 4, 2014
Tennessee
Hi folks! I have been battling a dirty pool for a little bit now. I initially thought I had an algae problem, so I SLAMed. CC after that was 0, FC-12, and I balanced pH, TA, and CYA before SLAMing. The water has remained cloudy and aqua green despite these efforts, after 5 days of SLAMing. If I turn the pump off for a day or so, the water clears up some, and you can see tracks of sediment along the pool floor. I have attempted to slow vacuum this; the water still gets cloudy. I read on one of the threads about putting a sock over the jet while you vacuum. I did this and found that my filter is allowing a bunch of stuff to come through.

My chemistry is great currently: pH 7.5, CYA 40, FC 4.5, CC 0, TA-110. My water is just dirty. I am a novice when it comes to messing with filters. I saw a link for figuring out if the sand was channeling or not, but the webpage had gone away. Can anyone tell me some stuff to check for and how to fix it? If you start talking filter parts, you might have to explain what you're talking about. When I say I'm a novice, that's probably an understatement. :cool:

Are you rinsing the filter for the same amount of time that you backwash? An inadequate rinse cycle will cause the filter to put the dirt it has collected back in the pool. Rinsing, as described in most manuals, is as important as backwashing.

Try alternating backwashing for one minute and rinsing for one minute. Repeat this cycle four or five times. This many solve your problem.

PoolDV, I did a partial deep clean earlier this year after I found that link. There was quite a bit of stuff that came out, but I didn't wait until it was completely clean (I was creating a pond beside my pool). Perhaps I should go back and do another deep clean until it is completely clear?

- - - Updated - - -