Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Can algae be spread by a garden hose?

1. Back To Top    #1

Can algae be spread by a garden hose?

I hope this doesn't sound like a silly question but I'm new at all of this. We drained our algae infested pool and will soon set up a new pool. Will it be a problem to use the same hose to fill as we did to drain? I don't want to spread anything to our pretty new pool.
    5700 gal easy set AGP , 2500 gph intex pump, TF-100.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Can algae be spread by a garden hose?

I would certainly flush out the hose for a couple minutes before putting it in the new pool. There's not much point in getting more hard core than that, since your pool will not be in a sterile environment, and new algae spores will have free access. Maintain good chlorine levels to keep them from flourishing and multiplying.
    18' x 48" ring top pool (Summer Escapes); 5500 gallons; set up June - October, stored during winter; Intex 2500 gph pump (B size cartridge filter) Hayward 21" sand filter + 1.5 hp single speed Powerflo Matrix pump (upgrade October 2016) *** K-2006 test kit, refills from tftestkits

3. Back To Top    #3

Ok thanks. I've actually been having dreams about algae so I want to do it right this time lol. I see we will have the same set up as you in a couple of weeks. May I ask what a Unicel cartidge is?

4. Back To Top    #4

Unicel C-5315 (can find on Amazon and elsewhere) is a better quality, made in USA incidentally, filter cartridge. It is size compatible with the Intex B. As others had suggested, I find the Unicel cartridge does a better job, and also seems easier to clean. Dirt seems to come off more easily when I spray the filter with a garden hose. I always washed and reused the generic B cartridges also - seemed wasteful and unnecessary to throw them away after one use.