Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Jandy 1400 high salinity alarm

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Early, Tx
    Posts
    6

    Jandy 1400 high salinity alarm

    I have a jandy 1400 cellthat I bought last season to replace my previous 1400. 3 weeks ago I added salt because salt level was 2.8 gr/l on the display unit. That Raised the level to 3.5, worked great until 3 days ago, then it read high salt of 5.2 and error code "174", I thought this was a problem with the cell. I removed it and gave it a 4/1 acid soak for 10 minutes,then cleaned the sensor with plastic scrub pad. I took a sample to local pool supply, reading was 3.8. Started added water, and I ordered a oaktron saltester 11. Today the tester came in and water tested 3.1, but swg display is reading 4.2 and error code "174". Any ideas? Thanks

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Re: Jandy 1400 high salinity alarm

    What is the water temperature?

    Is there a heater?

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Miami, Fl
    Posts
    47

    Re: Jandy 1400 high salinity alarm

    If all manual test show lower results, see link below on how to reset the salinity. I had the same issue and worked for me.

    Jandy error code 145
    Built March 2015 13000 gallon free form exposed aggregate with sheer descent, Jandy 2HP VSP, Jandy 1400 SWG with Aqualink PDA and AquaCal electrical heater. Pentair Clean and Clear filter 150SF. TF100 test kit. Pentair Kreepy Krualy Great White.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Early, Tx
    Posts
    6

    Re: Jandy 1400 high salinity alarm

    Quote Originally Posted by JamesW View Post
    What is the water temperature?

    Is there a heater?
    Pool temp is 80 to 85, but no heater
    thanks

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan P View Post
    If all manual test show lower results, see link below on how to reset the salinity. I had the same issue and worked for me.

    Jandy error code 145
    Ok
    Thank you

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,636

    Re: Jandy 1400 high salinity alarm

    If you re calibrate the sensor, keep track of how much you have changed it. When you finally change the sensor, you will need to put the setting back to what it was, otherwise it will be off and you may think you have a defective new sensor.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Jandy 1400 high salinity alarm

    "Disconnect the flow salinity temp sensor from the front board. Press and hold the test
    buttons marked salinity and R-temp. While still pressing the test buttons press the ‘Salinity’
    key (‘C’) on the front cover of the unit. The LCD should read 2.8 gpl*.
    While still holding the two front board test buttons press the ‘Pool Temperature’ key (‘D’). It
    should read 75 F or 24 C.
    Next, press and hold the board ‘H-Temp’ test button, and at the same time press the ‘Salinity’
    key (‘C’) together with the ‘Chlorine Production Rate’ arrow down key (‘A’) on the front
    cover of the unit. The LCD should read 91 F or 33 C .
    If the readings are correct then the front board is O.K. and the problem is with the flow sensor."

    174 is high temperature, not high salt. What temperature is displayed when you press the button?
    What model aquapure do you have? Try the above procedure to see if tge board is ok.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Early, Tx
    Posts
    6

    Re: Jandy 1400 high salinity alarm

    Quote Originally Posted by Pool Clown View Post
    If you re calibrate the sensor, keep track of how much you have changed it. When you finally change the sensor, you will need to put the setting back to what it was, otherwise it will be off and you may think you have a defective new sensor.
    good idea

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Early, Tx
    Posts
    6

    Re: Jandy 1400 high salinity alarm

    I will try this procedure today. I am thinking its a sensor problem, yesterday I calibrated the salinity setting from 4.5 to 3.1 to match the salt tester reading. (I had taken several samples from the last 2 days, all had read 3.1 and 3.2.). 3hours after calibrating, the display gave a low salinity reading of 2.3 and error code 144. I then re calibrated the unit to 3.1, it worked ok the rest of the day but I thinking the problem is not finished.

    Thanks for info
    This is my first time to join a forum, and the response has been great.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Jandy 1400 high salinity alarm

    What temperature displays when you push the temperature button?

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Early, Tx
    Posts
    6

    Re: Jandy 1400 high salinity alarm

    Sorry it's been awhile, I've been busy.
    the temp reading is 89 to 91 , seems to be correct.
    Still has the same problem, I will adjust the setting back to 3.1 and after a few hours it will read low salinity if I adjusted it from a high salinity error code, or high if I adjusted from a low salinity error. I removed the sensor and cleaned it with scotch-brite pad , still same results.
    Is there a better generator than Jandy?
    thanks

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Early, Tx
    Posts
    6

    Re: Jandy 1400 high salinity alarm

    Quote Originally Posted by JamesW View Post
    "Disconnect the flow salinity temp sensor from the front board. Press and hold the test
    buttons marked salinity and R-temp. While still pressing the test buttons press the ‘Salinity’
    key (‘C’) on the front cover of the unit. The LCD should read 2.8 gpl*.
    While still holding the two front board test buttons press the ‘Pool Temperature’ key (‘D’). It
    should read 75 F or 24 C.
    Next, press and hold the board ‘H-Temp’ test button, and at the same time press the ‘Salinity’
    key (‘C’) together with the ‘Chlorine Production Rate’ arrow down key (‘A’) on the front
    cover of the unit. The LCD should read 91 F or 33 C .
    If the readings are correct then the front board is O.K. and the problem is with the flow sensor."

    174 is high temperature, not high salt. What temperature is displayed when you press the button?
    What model aquapure do you have? Try the above procedure to see if tge board is ok.

    Ok
    test 1. 1.9 This is after I've been adjusting salinity on unit.
    test 2. 74
    test 3. 89

    model is apure 1400, this is on the tag "pure1400/cm601", back board "clormatic lll" revision 8.
    original main unit with a replacement salt cell that I had to add a patch board adapter to main board and plug sensor cord into the patch board.

    my latest posts describe this problem in further detail.
    the salinity reading changes constantly, and the flow indicator light doesn't light up.

    thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •